Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Not Vital, House to Watch the Sunset, SCARCH, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Interior court-yard, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Not Vital, Pelvis, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Not Vital, Tongue, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Interior, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Interior, Andy Warhol, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Interior court, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Ko Un, Bronze sculpture, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Interior, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Moon, Not Vital, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle

The castle of Tarasp was built around 1040 by the lords of Tarasp, who had moved from the lake Como to the Engadin. In 1239, the fortress came into the possession of the count of Tirol. From 1646 on, Tarasp became an Austrian county and in the course of the 16th century the complex was magnified and made a border fortress. In 1803, Napoleon gave Tarasp, which was one of the last Austrian enclaves in Switzerland, to the Helvetic Republic. In the following decades, the castle frequently changed owners and sustained grave damages.
In the summer of 1900 the industrial Dr. Karl August Lingner from Dresden came to Vulpera for a cure. The inventor of Odol mouthwash then decided to acquire the fortress and to renovate it. In an ambitious effort aimed at bringing the castle back to glory, old wood paneling and furniture were bought up from patrician houses in the Grisons, in Tirol and in Germany. In 1916, Lingner installed a Dresdner Jehmlich organ in the former armory chamber that is now the castle’s music room. This organ is now said to be the biggest private organ in Europe.
In the same year, Lingner died of a sudden death. According to his testament the castle was meant to be given to the last king of Saxony, Friedrich August III. As he refused the legacy, Tarasp then went to the grand duke Ernst Ludwig von Hessen. The von Hessen family remained in possession of the castle until the 30th of March 2016, when Not Vital acquired the castle of Tarasp.

Today, the site houses a collection of antique, modern and contemporary art. The Parkin, a sculpture park in the village of Sent, and the historic Planta house in Ardez form part of Not Vital’s foundation as well.

Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Not Vital, House to Watch the Sunset, SCARCH, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Interior court-yard, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Not Vital, Pelvis, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Not Vital, Tongue, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Interior, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Interior, Andy Warhol, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Interior court, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Ko Un, Bronze sculpture, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Interior, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle
Moon, Not Vital, Chastè da Tarasp, Schloss Tarasp, Tarasp Castle

Das Schloss Tarasp wurde um das Jahr 1040 von den Herren von Tarasp erbaut, die aus der Gegend des Comer Sees ins Engadin gezogen waren. Im Jahre 1239 gelangte die Festung an die Grafen von Tirol. Ab 1464 wurde das Schloss Tarasp zu einer österreichischen Grafschaft. Im Laufe des 16ten Jahrhunderts wurde die Anlage sodann von ihren Besitzern vergrössert, und zur Grenzfestung ausgebaut. 1803 wurde Tarasp, als eine der letzten Enklaven der Schweiz, durch Napoleon der Helvetischen Republik zugeschlagen. Das Schloss Tarasp wechselte in den darauffolgenden Jahrzehnten mehrmals den Besitzer, und die Anlage erlitt grosse Schäden.
Im Sommer 1900 reiste der Dresdner Industrielle Dr. Karl August Lingner zu einem Kuraufenthalt nach Vulpera. Der Erfinder von Odol Mundwasser entschied sich sodann die zerfallene Festung zu erwerben, und zu renovieren. Aus Bündner Patrizierhäusern, aus Edelhöfen des benachbarten Tirols, und aus Deutschland wurden alte Vertäferungen und Mobiliar angekauft, um dem Schloss Tarasp zu neuer Pracht zu verhelfen. Im Jahre 1916, liess Lingner in der früheren Waffenkammer, die nun das Musikzimmer des Schlosses ist, eine Dresdner Jehmlich Orgel einbauen. Heute gilt diese als grösste Orgel in Europäischem Privatbesitz.
Im selben Jahre verstarb Linger einem plötzlichen Tod. Testamentarisch hätte das Schloss Tarasp damals an den letzten König von Sachsen, Friedrich August III vermacht werden sollen. Da dieser das Legat ablehnte, ging Tarasp sodann an den Grossherzog Ernst Ludwig von Hessen. Die Familie von Hessen blieb bis 2016 in Besitz der Anlage, als Not Vital am 30ten März das Schloss Tarasp erwarb.

Heute beherbergt das Schloss Tarasp eine Sammlung antiker, moderner, und zeitgenössischer Kunst. Zur Stiftung Not Vitals gehört auch der Parkin, ein Skulpturenpark in Sent, und das historische Plantahaus in Ardez.